Milton»Forums
Allen Webster
476 posts / 6 projects
Heyo
Looking Awesome, I've got questions.
Edited by Allen Webster on
So first of all Milton is looking awesome, I just tried the version on the github and I see no reason to keep Mischief around now. Also the art on the project page is quite impressive.

Now I've got a lot of questions.

First of all, I'm not an artist, so I just use a mouse and I'm guessing this might not be a problem with a tablet, but seems like the sample rate on the mouse position is a bit low. I don't care since I'm not an artist, but I'm curious if that is something you're going to attend to.

Second, I have never in my life figured out how people make such nice installers. Everything I try turns out to be a massive nightmare so I've just never made anything that installs "properly" on windows. I'm curious if you can briefly explain what you do to set up that installer. I looked around the source very briefly but I didn't find a smoking gun.
Murry Lancashire
25 posts
Aspiring Polymath.
If any of the art programs want artist feedback give me a yell and I can give you detailed feedback of what it would need to be useable/competitive vs other programs.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
It uses Inno Setup installer: https://github.com/serge-rgb/milton/blob/master/Milton.iss

I have used it before multiple times and I have found it the most reasonable one: http://www.jrsoftware.org/isinfo.php
Inno Setup default wizard generates project that is very nice by default. And it has Pascal language for advanced scripting, but I've never had need to use it. You can do a lot of things with default configuration/wizard options.

Before that I used NSIS installer: http://nsis.sourceforge.net/Main_Page While it is as good as Inno, the most painful part was the scripting, because you needed to do that in pseudo-assembly language. Not sure if that is changed now or not.
Mikkel
57 posts